Fountain Hills~~Forever First

I am a businessman. This is what I do each and                                                                       every day. I love it. I love coming to work.                                                                                   I never have a bad day. ~~ Magic Johnson

 

 FOUNTAIN HILLS~~FOREVER FIRST

         FO3D89~1Most of us remember our first time doing any number of things: first day of school, first roller coaster ride, first job, first car, first kiss, first surgery, or first trip abroad. One of my most outstanding “firsts” was in 1982, visiting beautiful Fountain Hills, Arizona.

That first impression and love for the town has lasted 35 years. Granted, Fountain Park has evolved over time, but even back then I sat on the grassy knoll and was mesmerized by the fountain shooting up 560 feet, powered by three pumps. The rainbow I saw on that first visit promised more than a pot of gold. Little did I know that someday I would move from Iowa to what I now call “Paradise.”

When Robert P. McCulloch first bought 4,500 acres in 1960, he changed a once large cattle ranch into a new town. Helping to put Fountain Hills “on the map” was Charles Wood, Jr. who had worked with Walt Disney on designing Disneyland. His concept provided the landmark we admire today…The Fountain.

McCulloch first planned to attract property buyers with the then “World’s Highest Fountain.” His 1972 “fly-before-you-buy” sales program flew in prospective buyers from the Midwest and back East. They were then given tours in white jeeps to select their properties.

At first, the community was remote from the rest of the Valley. “Why would anyone want to live way out there?” With a current population of around 24,000, hardly anyone would ask that question today. Residents and visitors alike enjoy a resort-like community with renowned golf courses, unique shops, restaurants, hiking trails, great entertainment and events, like the Great Fair, the Fountain Festival of Arts and Crafts, and the only Thanksgiving Day parade held in Arizona.

Fountain Hills boasts of excelling schools for pre-school through high school. We welcome the East Valley Institute of Technology (EVIT) as the town’s latest addition, offering students options for vocational training.

Situated northeast of Scottsdale in the Shea Boulevard corridor, Fountain Hills is less than 30 minutes from Sky Harbor Airport and the Phoenix Valley. McDowell Mountain Regional Park is minutes away. The town of Fountain Hills neighbors the Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation and the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community. As of the 2006 census, Fountain Hills was the eighth fastest-growing place among cities and towns in Arizona.

For me, the first visit to Fountain Hills will always be the most memorable, but the town’s progressive moves with Park Grand and possibly Crystal Lagoon make it even more impressive. I’ve watched roads being built, signal lights added, businesses move in, Eagle Mountain, Eagle’s Nest, Sunridge Canyon, and Fire Rock custom homes being built, while a sense of small town community thrives. When I drive from Shea Boulevard to Palisades and round the curves in the road at the top of the hill, I see a beautiful and breathtaking sight. Blue sky over luxury homes with desert landscapes, million-dollar views of mountain ranges, and the famous fountain jetting upward remind me of how blessed I am to live here. Fountain Hills will be my forever first place that I call home (aka “Paradise”).

MCO Realty is proud to have had the privilege of developing the town. Need a first-class realty company? Want an experienced agent? Expect excellence? Call MCO Realty FIRST.

Contact Real Estate Sales Executive, Effie Gross at (480) 540-1906. Email: effiegross@msn.com. Websites: http://www.EffieGross.com and http://www.FountainHillsWelcomeHome.com.

This entry was posted in Fountain Hills, MCO Realty, Realtor, Realty, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fountain Hills~~Forever First

  1. Jescole says:

    I passed out in Arizona due to the climate leaching my electrolytes (I had to switch from water to gatorade). I never thought I’d want to go back until this post. I want to see this place that moved you so profoundly.

Leave a Reply

