Door or Doormat?

I think doors are important. They allow us to enter or exit. We expect to be welcomed or shunned. The door is either open or shut. At my house, on cooler days, we leave doors open for a fresh mountain breeze to waft through the house. Our neighbors recognize the open welcome. They approach, the dog barks, like a doorbell, signaling approaching visitors. I ask them in…landscapers, kids, Fed-X delivery personnel. They may not all come in, but they are invited.

An open door...an open heart.

An open door…an open heart.

As a kid, my Grandma and Grandpa Smith had a picture of Jesus standing at the door and knocking. That was before doorbells. Even at eight or nine, I thought it was not nice to let Someone stand there on the outside. That picture disturbed me.

I love doors that have “Welcome” mats. When I ring the doorbell or tap the brass knocker, I don’t feel as though I’m intruding. Being a doormat isn’t necessarily a bad thing, either. Allowing someone to wipe their dirty feet on you (figuratively speaking) can help them come into the house with no traces of mud or grime, clean. Sometimes people need help. Other people just like to be a listening ear or a give a helping hand. Neither are weak, only human.

Being a door or a doormat comes with caution. Not everyone is scrupulous; some may take advantage. Be open and welcoming, but wise. Just like the picture of Jesus. He doesn’t remain standing outside when we let him into our lives. I’m glad that I opened the door of my heart and let Him in as a young girl. Now I know, “My Father has a big, big house!” Someday, when my work on earth is done, the welcome mat will be clean, the door will open wide, and He will say, “Welcome, Home!”

How about you? Do you have a door or door mat story? I’d love to hear from you.

All the best, ~~Effie

Be sure to visit my websites: http://www.FountainHillsWelcomeHome.com and http://www.EffieGross.com

This entry was posted in Childhood, Etiquette, family, Family History, friends, God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Door or Doormat?

  1. Pingback: Door or Doormat? | Kilroy Was Here…

Leave a Reply

