Business Ethics 101

Effie Gross kissing the Blarney Stone 2001“The real estate business has a lot of unethical people in it,” I said to my broker recently.

“There’s a lot of unethical people in the world,” he corrected me by expanding on my complaint.

Now I understand why some large corporations offer classes in “Ethics.” Previously, I didn’t think such a topic could be taught. You are either an honest person or a person of lesser character: a liar, a cheat, a thief, or a jerk, in general.

To give the benefit of the doubt, let’s guess that the person in question kissed the Blarney Stone, like I did in 2001. Yet, I’ve never (to my knowledge) used the kissing experience for an excuse to tell some wild tale and expect someone to believe me. Just maybe, I got the gift of gab (refined), but that is as far as I’ll go on that Irish thought.

Here’s what bothers me:   a Seller explained to my Buyer that the water stain on the ceiling came about by a member of the household spraying bug spray up there. He also  decided to cover it up with fresh paint. Yup! I’m sure that could have happened just that way, BUT let’s get real…honestly. Why not just say that after Arizona’s monsoon season there’s a loose roof tile up there, and it will only take a quick and inexpensive fix?

I wish everyone followed the Golden Rule, then we’d all be ethical. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Telling the truth is just good business ethics! In fact, ethical behavior is just plain good…in business or in any other situation.

Have you ever been in a situation where you told a lie, but wished you’d told the truth? Have you ever told the truth and wished you lied? How do ethics play a part in your life?

Knowing that “all men/women are liars,” I try not to be too hard on anyone. I guess dishonesty is a pet peeve for me. Analyze the business of ethics, please, but keep me out of it! I’ve kissed the Blarney Stone. Remember?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Ethics and Morals, Manners, Real Estate, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Business Ethics 101

  1. Deborah Hamel says:

    Ethics vary with culture. Look at some of the religious factions who believe that another group has no worth, and must be killed for not converting. So, to them killing is not only ethical, but honorable. Our world is becoming so well traveled, that one set of ethics isn’t a standard. We still have our laws, when they are upheld, to provide an ethical compass, but now, even that is changing. I don’t know where the world is headed in terms of ethics, so the only thing I can control is me. I know what my ethical code is for daily living and I adhere to those standards. Like you, I’m finding others just don’t seem to abide by the same ethical standards that I expect of myself. The answer for me is to stick to my code of ethics, as best I can, The Ten Commandments, and the rest is up to the All Mighty.

    • Deb, I’m sorry for the late response, but please know how very much I appreciate your thoughtful and insightful remarks. Yes, the world’s standard for behavior is ever changing, but God’s standards are ever the same. Your example of the Ten Commandments is excellent. God’s law is higher than ANY other. You are a person of sterling character and the core of your being is beautiful.

  2. audrakrell says:

    I don’t have times anymore where I tell the truth and wish I lied. I know what it feels like to carry that heavy baggage and I don’t ever want to if I can avoid it. There is nothing that bothers me more than a dishonest person.

Leave a Reply

