The Gates are Open

The Gates are Open

Every January, I print out my prayer list and put it in my Bible. The items listed include prayers for myself, and I’ll have to admit that those items are high on top. Next, I pray for my children and grandchildren, then family, friends, acquaintances, government, missionaries, police/sheriffs, doctors, teachers, employers, and even attorneys. I have attended a few churches since becoming a Christian at age 13, so I pray for each of them. I pray for my neighbors in the friendly cul-de-sac where I live, and sometimes I’ve been known to pray for the family pets. Routinely, I pray for the peace of Jerusalem (Psalm 122:6).

My list could go on-and-on, but I try to keep it narrowed down to one typed page. Of course I jot down more  things throughout the year, spill coffee on important topics, and shed tears on others.

Scottsdale Bible Church Prayer Garden

Scottsdale Bible Church Prayer Garden

After a wonderful sermon by Pastor Jamie on Nehemiah 2:1-20 at Scottsdale Bible Church today, I went to the Prayer Garden. Through the open gates I walked and took the crooked path until I found my favorite spot, the water feature. From there I could meditate with  the three crosses in view.

I wonder about the tiny prayer papers nailed to the crosses. They remind me of the papers poked in a little crevice at the Western Wall. I think about the people who put them there. I should pray for them. I’ve never put anything on the cross, other than my sin. I’m so thankful that Messiah Jesus, with His blood,  paid the price I could not pay. My prayers are on wings taking flight to heaven, as some people say, “From your mouth to God’s ears.”IMG_0447-001

Upon leaving Scottsdale Bible Church’s lovely sanctuary of prayer,  about an hour later, I unexpectedly met Simone Lake, a Christian speaker from Payson, Arizona. She told me, “I pray about everything!”

I’ve decided to keep my prayer list, but I can’t stop there. I was privileged today when asked to  pray for Simone about her desire to go to the Holy Land. Imagine, me, being invited to pray with a devout woman of prayer. She said, “Come Pray With Me.”

Right now, I have an image in my mind of a picture hanging in Grandma and Grandpa Smith’s 1950s living room. It was Jesus kneeling by a rock, praying…and I think of the song written by C. Austin Miles, “In the Garden.” Some of the lyrics are: “And He walks with me/And He talks with me/And He tells me I am His own/And the joy we share as we tarry there/None other has ever known.”

We may go to the garden alone, but we don’t leave that way.

What happens when you pray? Do you sense an awareness of God’s presence ? What can I pray about with you? I don’t care how long my list grows…go ahead, tell me…I’ll pray with you.

Visit my website: http://www.EffieGross.com/

Visit Simone Lake  http://www.deeprootsinchrist.org/

Link | This entry was posted in family, friends, God's Voice, Judeo-Christian, Prayer, Prayer Garden, Scottsdale Bible Church, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Come Pray With Me

  1. audrakrell says:

    I too, really enjoyed the sermon today at SBC. It was very inspiring and a great reminder of God’s holy promises. What a beautiful story about your prayer garden experience.
    I have just been invited on a last minute medical mission. Would you pray for wisdom regarding if I should go, as well as for the funds to be provided if I do? Thank you Effie for your blessed prayers.

    • Audra, I am praying this prayer: Our dear Lord, your timing is perfect for Audra’s invitation. May you give her wisdom in her decision to go or to stay here. You are the great Provider, so we ask that every expense involved in this mission trip would be paid for, should Audra sense your leading in that direction. I pray that we will always remember, “the good hand of my God is upon me” Neh. 2:8. In Jesus’ name, Amen. Bless you, dear friend.

      • audrakrell says:

        Effie, I’m so blessed by your beautiful, prayer of truth. I did not sense God leading me to go. While my heart is a little heavy and sad, I’m happy knowing I’m in the center of His will. So grateful for you sister.

      • I’m blessed by you and your many talents, Audra. Sorry you didn’t go on the short-term missions trip, but I’m sure you sought the Lord’s will. Have a good week of writing!

  2. Pingback: Come Pray With Me | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  3. Mynita Rubel says:

    Thank you for your wonderful blogs. In The Garden is my favorite song. It speaks to my heart.

  4. Thanks for this encouragement on prayer. You left a kind comment on an article I wrote about race along time ago. Glad I found your site.

Leave a Reply

