The Voice (of the Violin)

The Voice (of the Violin)

Hannah's Heavenly Music ~~Photo by Effie-Alean

Hannah’s Heavenly Music
~~Photo by Effie-Alean

Not to be mistaken, “the voice” in this article is not the American reality singing competition based on Holland’s concept. The strongest voice in the world is narrowed down to one, the all-time giver of talent: God.
He has a voice much like a whisper. He never yells. Sometimes, God uses the voice of others to sing His message…prophets, priests, kings. For His children, purchased with the blood of His Son Jesus, God speaks through the Holy Spirit, communing with hearts open to hear words of wisdom, comfort, rebuke, warning, or love.
After a dream one night, I awoke to remember just one aspect, a sound. I remembered hearing a single note, Middle C in perfect pitch. For me, a person with a tin ear, the musical sound was remarkable. I couldn’t (and still can’t) get it out of my mind. The music could only be from God, because it was perfect! From that memory, I wrote the following poem:

THE VOICE OF THE VIOLIN

When I ceased to hear the violin
An angel had played for me tonight,
I cried.

The music sounded holy, light.
I listened to the tune and cried.

The voice of the violin, so beautiful; yet,
I cried.

The violin, lovely, lofty, mellow,
Tuned itself to my heart’s strings.

I listened, and from my soul,
I cried.

Like none I’d ever heard, celestial music—
So Divine.

Only the angel’s touch upon a cord
Could stir my spirit with such precision.

I listened to the final note—
Waiting eagerly for yet another.

Silence, rather, took a lengthy space.
I yearned for the melody, but not a sound.
I cried.

No more music…I must have
DIED.

I could no longer hear the Voice of the Violin—
Bow lifted by angels’ wings.

Rightly so,
I cried.

–Effie-Alean
7/10/97

*Written upon awakening from sleep and hearing a single Middle C—perfect note. The violin is a metaphor for “God.”

I can think of nothing worse than not hearing God’s voice. We all listen to someone’s voice. Often we listen to people who love the sound of their own voice.

On this Thanksgiving week, I thank God for my voice; oh, not my singing voice. I’ll get that later…in heaven. As a writer, I have another kind of voice. I’m thankful for the voice God speaks to me…the one I hear in night dreams and in daydreams.

What do you hear? How will you use your “voice” to praise and thank the God of glory for His marvelous goodness? I hope you’ll reply, “Let me count the ways.”

HAPPY THANKSGIVING, EVERYONE!
P.S.
I’m especially thankful for my loyal followers and fellow readers…you!

Don’t forget to visit my website: www.EffieGross.com

Need a speaker at your next event? Contact me for availability.

This entry was posted in God, God's Voice, Judeo-Christian, Music, Poetry, Thanksgiving, Uncategorized, Violin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Voice (of the Violin)

  1. Pingback: The Voice (of the Violin) | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  2. Timm Reid says:

    Very nice piece. I heard His voice this morning as I sat reading His precious words to me. Revelation 21:22 And I saw no temple therein: for the Lord God Almighty and the Lamb are the temple of it.
    What a day that will be!

  3. Floyd says:

    Wow. A divine tone. Our senses can’t begin to grasp what it will be like in a perfect realm. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  4. Your piece reminded me when God has spoken to me through His Word in the silence of the night. It is humbling to realize that the Sovereign God, Creator of the universe would stoop to communicate and help me along this pilgrim’s way. Thank; you, Rosemarie Malroy

Leave a Reply

