Under the Tent

Tents have been around since biblical times, but my memory of them only goes back to my childhood. My parents never took me camping, either.

Back then, Uncle Bert Smith had erected a tent on the side yard of his home. His father, my Grandpa Albert Smith, helped and all of the cousins invited neighbors to come to a “meetin’ of gospel preaching” to be held that night. It was a hot, star-lit, Iowa evening with lightning bugs and mosquitoes. We cousins, sisters, brothers and school pals sat on wooden makeshift benches with our young legs dangling down. I suppose we sang, “The Old Rugged Cross,” and “In the Garden.” We sipped homemade lemonade and ate icy cold watermelon when the service was over. What grand memories under the tent!

Succoth at Tikvah Ba Midbar--Phoenix. Photo Credit~~Effie-Alean

Succoth at Tikvah Ba Midbar–Phoenix. Photo Credit~~Effie-Alean

Last night, I stood under a different tent, the Succoth booth, celebrating the Feast of Tabernacles (cf. Lev. 23). What a precious time of thanking God for His goodness. The Jewish people reflect on their wandering and time of tent dwelling, with no permanent home. As we take time out to remember former days, we see the goodness of God in our lives. One song says it best, “Roll back the curtain of memory now and then; Show me where you brought me from and where I could have been…”

Our bodies are referred to as “tents” that are temporary, too. For all true believers in Messiah Jesus, this dwelling place for our souls will be changed when He calls us home with the sound of the shofar, the trumpet sound. I’m listening…are you?

One other memory that I have about tents is a very personal one. My late husband took me into the “tent” of his prayer shawl and prayed for me prior to a pending back surgery. I’ll never forget that intimate moment with my late husband and in the presence of our heavenly Father.

Indianapolis, Indiana Photo Credit~~Effie-Alean

Indianapolis, Indiana
Photo Credit~~Effie-Alean

Our earthly bodies, like tents, are temporary. As for me, I’ve never been a camper anyway; I’m more of a Hyatt Regency kind of girl, but even the hotels will someday be gone. In that day, I will move into the mansion Jesus is preparing for me…once I move out of this earthly body, this tent for my soul.

If you could describe your new “home” in heaven, what would it look like? I know that it has many rooms and the street out front is made of pure gold. Imagine the visitors you’ll entertain: King Jesus, loved ones, friends, King Solomon, the Rabbi Paul, and a host of angels.

I’m guessing that a lot of “tents” will never get sold on Ebay. Why not put in an offer on the best house in town (the New Jerusalem)? All you have to do is give God the key to your heart, accept His Son as payment for your sin. He sweeps everything clean, move-in ready for an eternal relationship with your very best Friend.

Leave the tent behind. Your mansion awaits.

This entry was posted in family, Iowa, Jewish, Judeo-Christian, Messianic, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Under the Tent

  1. Pingback: Under the Tent | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  2. farich@mchsi.com says:

    Dearest Friend EFfie, Thank_You so much for including me in your Kilroy was here. I love your posting! I am waiting for the trumpet to sound also. Anna

    • Anna, Thanks for reading and sending a reply. I have fun doing the blog. I’m glad you like it. We will both go up together at that last trump…it’s good to know that my childhood friends are believers in Messiah Jesus. Take care, Anna. I may make it to Iowa for Christmas. I’d love to see you again. ~~Effie

  3. Floyd says:

    Wonderful memories and shelter from the hand of our Father…

  4. Cheryl Cartwright says:

    Thanks for a beautiful memory of Dad..Love Cheryl

    • I enjoy so many memories of the Smith families. Thanks, cousin Cheryl. Your dad was a very kind man and true brother to my mother, Thelma. I hope you’ll follow my blog. Happy Thanksgiving. PS~~sorry for the late reply.

  5. As you know, I like fancy hotels too, but tents have a purpose. In this life, we have to be willing to give up our gracious homes and use a tent like the Israelites. There are many Christians doing so right now.
    Thank you, Effie, for your thought provoking words. Rosemarie Malroy

  6. Mynita Rubel says:

    Thanks Effie for the beautiful memories. Looking forward to that wonderful day.

  7. Ruth Siemens says:

    Thanks for the tent story.
    Ruth (Roland’s cousin and graduated the same here–’57).

    • Ruth, Thanks so much for reading and following my blog. You’re such an encouragement. I’m always happy to stay in touch with Roland’s family. Happy Thanksgiving. PS~~Sorry for the late reply.

  8. Pingback: Saturday Shortcuts | Planned Peasanthood

  9. I came over from Rick’s Saturday Shortcuts. I love your example of the tents and laying aside the old shabby tent and taking up our new glorious mansion.

Leave a Reply

