The Art of Cursive Writing

At what grade I learned cursive writing, I do not recall. What I do remember is the feeling of making the artistic strokes, taking time to form each letter and then give the words my own little bit of flair. It was wonderful, the swirls and loops. The Palmer Method developed in the late nineteenth century has never left me, but I confess that I’ve left the perfect style somewhat.

Effie's Cursive~~Photo by Effie-Alean

Effie’s Cursive~~Photo by Effie-Alean

That’s because everyone’s handwriting is unique. I’ve even noticed that a person’s script changes over time. When I was younger, my penmanship contained more sharp points and fewer flourishes. Elderly writers develop jagged words and signatures. Over the years, I’ve followed the rules, though. I still sit up straight, slant my paper, hold the writing instrument with my index finger on top, and allow enough room on the desk for my arm to rest in a stationary position. Carefully, each letter is formed without lifting the pen, unless it is to dot an “i” or cross a “t.” That was how I was taught by my elementary school teacher. The right way.  

After my husband, Roland, died nine years ago, I filled out a family generational book, answering pages of questions about our lives.

Effie's Deer Antler Pen and Writing~~Photo by Effie-Alean

Effie’s Deer Antler Pen and Writing~~Photo by Effie-Alean

I consider it a life lines legacy of sorts. For months I wrote by hand before finally completing the project for our children. If our grandchildren do not learn the art of cursive writing, they will not be able to read the fascinating tales in the family record. Of course, I believe they can all read and write cursive. Maybe they’ll even teach someone who missed the valuable lesson. That would be a “bonus letter.”

My father used to joke about owing someone money. He’d say, “Write it in the dust, and let the rain settle it.” He was kidding, of course. 

But the Son of God did once write in the dust with His finger. When he finished, the woman taken in adultery had no accusers. Jesus simply said, “Go, and sin no more.”

Have you ever wondered exactly what Jesus wrote that day? Did He use cursive? One thing we know for sure; His handwriting was legible, because the people who read it got the message and took off. So, there’s my argument for reviving cursive writing. Do you think cursive writing is becoming a lost art? Write me a letter.

Don’t forget to visit me at http://www.EffieGross.com. Click the “Follow” tab to receive my blog posts regularly by email. Thanks so much! 

This entry was posted in family, Language, Penmanship, The Palmer Method of Handwriting, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Art of Cursive Writing

  1. Pingback: The Art of Cursive Writing | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  2. floyd says:

    I don’t know if I could even remember how to use cursive now. The only time I use it is to sign my signature and that’s more like a loop-to-loop on a Hot Wheel track with a line at the end… It was never my specialty and my printing isn’t much better! But I do appreciate when I see it, it is like art… Never thought of it like that. Now I will…

    • Floyd, That’s so interesting that you don’t use cursive. Block letters take so much time; I doubt if I would have the patience to use them all of the time. Of course, we have all of these nifty little hand-held electronic devices now. Most younger people (you included) are proficient with the digital age. The next time I see you, I want to see your signature… in cursive.

  3. Carole Egler says:

    Effie,
    I’m still laughing. you don’t know what you are asking for when you say you wouldl like to see my writing! It is so illegible my mail comes back stamped ‘can’t be read’.(if I put on a return address sticker!) I would just love to hand write; but i cannot do it any more. So how have you been? I am all settled at Karen’s and getting used to it. I do not drive so I am just observing as I go. I believe I am about 40+ miles from Fountain Hills.

    I am living with 3 cats and 2 dogs , all of them have been subjected to my Charms
    and now love me in return

    I am sewing and reading + spending an inordinate amount of time at my computer. Well, I will get going and will check back to see the handwriting samples you get!

    Hugs, Carole

  4. Carol, you are such a creative person. You are excused for not using cursive any more. I understand. I assure you, I couldn’t possible make half of what you create with your many talents. Just keep pecking away at the keyboard. As long as my 20/20 eye glasses hold out, I can read your writing.

  5. Betty Draper says:

    I am laughing too..very creative way to promote both the Savior and cursive writing. I do both but both are getting worst due to age related problems. Seems every movie I ever seen was Jesus printing in the dust. I find it interesting that He formed us from dust and He wrote in the dust or dirt which ever suits. Your post kept me interested enough to follow your thoughts to the end, good post.

    • I’m smiling, because you were laughing. Thanks so much, Betty. The movies that show Jesus printing are just a sign of our times…I wonder if the producers know how to use handwriting. The Bible states that Jesus “wrote” in the dust. You make good points about from dust to dust, too. I’m glad you stayed with me until “The End.”

Leave a Reply

