The Kiss

"The Kiss" You have to kiss a lot of frogs, before you meet your prince.

Photo by Effie-Alean

“The Kiss”

You have to kiss a lot of frogs, before you meet your prince/princess.

The greatest love story ever written begins with Chapter One: “In the beginning, God….” My son and his family gave me artwork with a picture of an antique typewriter and those words for my last birthday. As a historical romance writer, I couldn’t agree more about the Bible being “the greatest love story ever.”

Other love stories come to mind, however. One of the first impressionable ones for me is Gone with the Wind. I fell in love with Margaret Mitchell’s  setting and characters. Who can forget scenes from 1936 Clayton County and Atlanta, Georgia or Rhett Butler and Scarlett O’Hara? Who could forget the story’s plot? The American Civil War brings its own challenges: Scarlett’s mother is dead, her father has gone insane, and the plantation, Tara, is about to be lost. This story doesn’t end with two lovers riding into the sunset. Maybe that’s why Gone with the Wind is remembered and cherished. The final scene and dialogue are brilliant. Rhett says, “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.” The interpretation is left up to the imagination.  As a reader and a writer, I like suspense, and even past the last line, I still care.

So, where do these love stories come from? I’d like to believe in kissing the ugly frog and Cupid. This little adorable “angel of love” steadies the bow, draws back the arrow, aims, and shoots at an unsuspecting target. A woman is pierced in the heart and at that same instant a man feels the puncture in his soul. The two of them carry Cupid’s dart, not even realizing how it will feather out into eternal bliss. Ahh, the very thought of love makes my heart pound in a faster rhythm. Then, I remember my mother’s admonition, “True love never did run smoothly.” In fiction, this is called plot complication; in life, it’s just trial and tribulation!

I’ve written a couple of historical novels with romance as a theme. The latest one is called, Empty Frames and features a corporate art curator who tracks down Hitler’s stolen art. He wants to return art objects to their rightful owners or heirs. The love interest is a master pastry chef, Jewish. The plot is involved, like life, only not as messy.

Which love stories do you like and remember? Did you like the characters or the plot best? If you could write a love story, how would the first line read? Fiction or a true story?

I hope you read “The Greatest Love Story Ever Written” on a daily basis. It’s historical, it’s current, and it’s futuristic. All of the Bible  is 100 percent accurate. Best of all, the Prince is coming for the love of His life…all believers. What a Book! On occasion, I’ve been known to kiss my Bible. It sure beats kissing a frog!

This entry was posted in Jewish, Judeo-Christian, Messianic, military, novels, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Kiss

  1. Floyd says:

    I too often hold my old Bible to my chest tightly as I pray. It is healing to speak directly to the Author and Master of my soul. I finished a classic sword and sandal manuscript that is actually a love story and the loss a man incurs as he delivers the sword of King David across generations. Love is the invention of our Father and it is what we all long for by design… and giving is the key…

    • Floyd, I agree, giving is the key to love…God gave His only Son because He has always loved us. Your manuscript sounds very interesting. I hope I get to read it someday. I’m so glad that you keep writing for our Lord. In that you share a love for the most Holy Book, we have that in common. I plan to hold my Bible next to my heart the next time I pray. What a marvelous idea.

  2. Pingback: The Kiss | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  3. Mynita Rubel says:

    Great post. Date: Tue, 14 May 2013 23:56:31 +0000 To: mynita@live.com

  4. audrakrell says:

    I tend to like the characters more than the story, as my favorites are stories where the character seems like me. If I wrote a love story, I’m sure it would be creative non-fiction. I have trouble not writing from the heart, but the ability to take some liberties can make an average story into a great one.

    • Good points, Audra. I’d like to read your love story of creative non-fiction…when will it be ready? I’m like you in that I like the characters in a story over the plot. Writers get to be arm-chair psychologists when it comes to analyzing personalities, motives, and behavior. It’s so hard to be God-like in creation of people/characters, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

