The Psychology of Writing–A Psalm

Everyone is a writer these days, it seems. Funny, I never wanted to call myself a writer. The word sounded too lofty, too intelligent, too exclusive.  For the longest time, I could rationalize: because I write, I must be a writer, but I’m not a writer-writer.

After over twenty-five years of writing for publication (dare I say, “professionally”), I can look myself in the mirror and say, “Yes, Effie, you are a writer.” I’ve passed the test. I can’t not write. Any period of time that passes when I’ve neglected the keyboard causes me great pain, and I don’t mean in my finger tips or in my tochis for not putting the seat of the pants on the seat of the chair.

As painful as it is, I wouldn’t begrudge anyone of written expression. Writing is a way to heal the mind, comfort the soul, or sway an opponent. It’s also a grave responsibility. For that reason, sometimes an essay or even  a list must be revised or rewritten, as in the case of Moses with the 10 Commandments on the two tablets (Ex. 34:1).  See, we have nothing on the ancients. We only have computer glitches, but Moses actually crashed the stone tablets down a mountain side.

I’m glad one of my favorite biblical accounts on writing not only survived, but is eternal.  I love reading about the very finger of God writing in the dirt (John 8:6). His message was for the one without sin to cast the first stone. That adulterous crowd disbursed without tossing a single pebble. Amazing things happen in the presence of Jesus.

Effie's Bible--KJV

Scofield Bible–KJV ~~Photo by Effie-Alean

A more recent writing means a lot to me. My son, Kendahl Gross wrote on Psalm 23. He doesn’t consider himself a writer, but then, he did write. So….

With permission, I give you his writing with great joy. 

Psalms 23 (A psalm of David) Paraphrased by Ken Gross

God pursues food and drink on my behalf so I always have what I need even when I am in the desert.

When I am in need of restoral, he brings me back to rolling hills of grass and gentle streams of water.

 This time with him renews me from the inside out.

 He shows me a way of living that brings honor to his name.

 It seems that even though I am in depressing circumstances,

 I will have courage,

 Because I feel your presence like a shadow, always close.

 You arm yourself for my defense and you always know the right direction to travel, this is reassuring to me.

 Even though people who hate me are nearby, we still celebrate together. We find time to eat and drink well, to recall all of the gifts I have received.

 Somehow I find the Master honoring the servant, and it humbles me.

 You have filled my life with blessings and now the additional blessings have no room and spill out onto others.

 “Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life,

 And I will live in the house of the Lord forever.”

No other words are needed. I encourage you to write a Psalm or whatever interests you most. Our best writing comes from the heart. Amazing things happen when we write in the presence of Jesus. Selah.

This entry was posted in family, friends, Judeo-Christian, Language, Psychology, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Psychology of Writing–A Psalm

  1. Floyd says:

    Awesome… You are indeed a writer and your son was born with the same gene designed by God. I love a paraphrase in scripture. It takes so much thought and heart.

    Selah is my youngest daughter’s middle name and that verse is my favorite in all of scripture…

    • Floyd, You’re such a blessing. Thank you for your faithful encouragement. You were my “blog” tutor. Thanks for that, too! I love the idea of using the name, “Selah” for your daughter. How creative is that?

      • Floyd says:

        That name always stood out to me for more than the obvious reason. Interesting that she loves to sing and is now taking guitar lessons. You are an encouragement as well. Thanks.

  2. Mynita Rubel says:

    Effie, thank you for this writting on the 23rd Psalm. My sunday school class recently had a two lesson on the 23rd Psalm. In the past I always thought that Psalm as dying or death…where in fact it is all about living.
    Thanks to Ken for allowing you to share his psalm. You know me it brought tears to my eyes.
    Mynita

    • Mynita, Thanks so much. I agree with you. The Psalm is about living life with the great hope of our eternal future. Yes, Ken was kind to let me share his version of Psalm 23. I appreciate you as a loyal fan of my writing. I know you well enough that I can see you reading with the tears. You have a tender heart for the things of the Lord and for your family.

  3. Jane Merkel says:

    What a wonderful new insight into such a beautiful scripture. Ken is truely blessed with a fine gift of thought and sharing. The 23rd. Psalm has always been a favorite of mine and now I have 2 wonderful versions. Thanks to each of you for sharing.

    • Jane, I know how much Psalm 23 must mean to you as you have had a hard road to walk with the health trials of your husband. I’m learning more and more about the writing abilities of my children…they all three can write. I’m so thankful for you, Jane. You have been a dear friend and faithful supporter of my work. All the best to you!

  4. Pingback: The Psychology of Writing–A Psalm | Lifelineslegacy's Blog

  5. Dear Effie, I enjoyed your post about being a writer. Lately, I haven’t been writing like I should, but it is true that I always return to writing whether or not I get published.
    We all can write if we put our pen to paper or fingers to the computer. Ken did so and proved he is a writer. It is great he could express his personal version of the 23 Psalm. May God bless him for sharing it with us. May we learn from his expression. Love, Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

