The Psychology of Your Photography

In my younger, more feisty days, I might discover someone staring at me and say, “Take a picture. It’ll last longer.” How rude of me! I’ve mellowed out by God’s grace, but the principle remains true. Pictures are more reliable than memory. Furthermore, the pictures we take with our Power Shot or professional $7,000 EOS-1D X Canon tell the tale of our interests and personalities.  I’ve labeled it, “The Psychology of Photography.”

Now, I’m no bona-fide psychologist, but I’ve read a few articles and books on the inner workings of the mind. Oy, I’m going deep!

Hear me out. As a further disclaimer, I’m not even close to being a pro with the camera. Yet, I’ve found that the items or people we find to point and shoot with our cameras tells a tale. For example, my son, Kendahl, is a professional photographer. He shoots outdoor settings and things like beautiful sunsets over lakes, even a bicycle stuck in the mud. Creative kinds of things. I get precious few family photos (not that he doesn’t like his family), because he’s like the cobbler without shoes for his kids. I’ll give him that one.

Sign in Grape Vine, TX~~Photo by Effie-Alean

I like to take pictures of people and strange things. Sometimes the two collide.

What kinds of photos do you take? Maybe you just like to absorb your surroundings and forget to pull the camera out of the bag.  That says something about you, too. Living in the moment is a quality I admire. So, no need to feel guilty. On a recent trip to Dallas with my friend, Rosemarie Malroy, we took a side excursion to Grape Vine, Texas.  I took photos.

Drinking water for horses only.

“Whoa!”~~Photo by Effie-Alean

Man, do these shots say a lot about me. Here’s a partial list: Signs (12 of them), historical buildings, streets, statues, food, coffins and grave markers. I’m posting a few of my photos.

The First Mayor of Grape Vine and Effie~~Photo by Rosemarie Malroy

You do the psychological analysis. Just don’t come looking for me with a new “jacket” to try on.

Tell me about your photos and what you make of the psychology behind them. Does this topic interest you? As you know, the discussion can be as endless as our boxes of photos or our digital albums.

Crazy.

This entry was posted in family, friends, Photography, Psychology, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Psychology of Your Photography

  1. Audra Krell says:

    Love how much fun you and Rosemarie are! These are great pictures. Sometimes I don’t take any pictures because I feel that I miss the experience. When I do though, I like pictures with people in them best. I love the memories that pictures capture for us. I have a very good memory. so with the pictures I can remember how I felt, how things smelled or the story behind the picture. Praying it will always be this way, but if not, at least I’ll have the photos!

    • Audra, Good idea about bringing the sensory detail into our memories and then taking smells and feelings into our writing. I never thought about the sense of smell and feel being triggered by a photo memory. I’ll experiment with that. Thanks! Happy writing…and photography.

  2. Ruth Siemens says:

    Effie,
    I have a picture my daughter took in 1991 of a road sign at a small rural cemetery near me that says “Dead End”. The sign is still there. Some of my friends and relatives are buried there. :>)
    Ruth

    • Ruth, That is too funny! I love the humor…even in death. You have to possess a sense of humor to take the photo. If you can, send me a copy of the photo. Hope all is well with you. Come see me when you’re in Arizona next time.

  3. Donna says:

    Oh my, your list of photos mirrors my own. Add to that historical markers on the roadsides, flowers, trees, leaves, and special effects like bird’s eye or fish eye of water.

    • Donna, We must be related! How do you get the special effects? I’d like to take a photography course. Maybe someday I will. I think I try my son’s patience. It’s like Mozart teaching a three year old. Taking a few pictures here and there is a lot of fun, though, regardless.

      • Donna says:

        There is a little dial thing on the top of my digital camera that gives me some options. I think some digital cameras have those options in the menu. More cumbersome than the dial thing, but do-able.

    • Thanks for the info on the “little dial thing.” I’ll see if my camera has one.

  4. Floyd says:

    I’ve lived most of my life without taking pictures. Since I started my blog I got my own camera, one that isn’t my telephone as well, and I try to record the world for others. We just came from St Louis and I got pictures of my wife’s entire family…. me – the guy who never cared enough about others to take a picture for or with them… I must be getting old!

    Love the pictures of you guys! I’ll keep an eye out for the guys with the jackets…

    • Floyd, How nice that you could spend time with your wife’s family…and capture the moments on your new camera. Funny how our perspective changes with age. Since you have the camera now, you can take the picture of the guys in white coats coming for me. I’m sure you’ll write a nice story to accompany your photo, too. Happy writing and blogging, Floyd.

  5. A camera sets you aside from the event and life in action, you become an observer, more like a voyeur. The experience had by the photographer can be as sensual and stimulating as the feelings of those being photographed. Behind the camera, memories, thoughts and anticipation are free to be experienced separate from the event being captured, yet are stimulated by the event, much like a voyeur in action, only the act of holding the camera makes watching acceptable to both parties. Talk about the psychology of photography. The dynamics are intriguing.

    What a delightful post, Effie.Thank you.

    • Deb,
      The title of my post suggested an intellectual discourse on the topic, but your comment DELIVERED! Thanks for giving us your perspective. Thinking about both parties, the one behind the camera and the one in front of the camera, gives depth to the vision in the view finder. You’re a terrific writer…thinker…friend. Thanks, again. Hope all is well with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

