A Case of Mistaken Identity

      While writing, “Foxtrots and Foxholes,” my recent WWII novel, I’ve had memories emerge from my days as a military spouse. One day back in the ’60s, my identical twin husband was due home from duty/work at White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico.

I eagerly watched for SP5 Roland E. Gross and opened the door to the man in green khakis with his name tag sewn above his heart: R. GROSS. A newly wed, I stepped forward to throw my arms around him and plant a wet kiss on his sun-parched lips. The soldier stepped backward.

“Roland is going to be late tonight,” he said. “Head count orders came down, and he has to stay.”

After recovering from the embarrassment of mistaken identity, I must have thanked Ronald, my husband’s twin. Now I understand a little better why Roland never liked dressing like his twin when he was a boy.  Besides, Roland said, “I felt like a freak with everyone staring at us.”

He wanted to be recognized as a unique individual. Even those of us who are not a twin want to be seen as special. I’m thankful that the Lord has our image on the palm of His hand…He knows us and sees our heart…unlike any other (Isa. 49:15).

What an awesome Commander. God never mistakes us for someone else.

PS–Happy Rosh Hashana!

www.EffieGross.com

 

 

This entry was posted in family, Judeo-Christian, Messianic, military, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Case of Mistaken Identity

  1. A nice post, Effie. As with any of your work I have had the pleasure to read, your story brought back memories of mistaking a total stranger as my husband during an opera intermission. I was so embarrassed as a rather young wife, however the older man was gracious and found humor in the event. He said it had been a long time since a woman pressed so intimately close to his side, and thanked me for the memories. His wife was not so pleased, and Terry really didn’t know what to think at first. I still remember the heat of pure embarrassment in my face. As I write this, the event is in full recall, I feel my face flush and a smile held so long my cheeks ache. Thank you for the memory.

  2. floyd says:

    What a great story! God is indeed amazing in that He can’t be fooled, all things are within His mighty grasp. Thanks Effie

  3. Right, Floyd. God can’t be fooled by appearances. I’m glad you liked my story.

  4. I love reading your work Effie. Thank you so much for reminding us that God has such intimate knowledge of us. It is wonderful that he has put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.

  5. audrakrell says:

    I love that you share the memories that come up for you. We have some very close friends who have twin daughters. I just stare at them in awe, they are 16 and don’t want to be stared at and mixed up, etc. It’s hard for me not stare at some of God’s most beautiful work!

  6. I know, Audra. I have twin girlfriends who were in my wedding, and they were so different…each beautiful in her own respect. Now I have twin granddaughters, adopted gorgeous, ethnic girls. (How’s that for stringing adjectives?) The Bible gives accounts of a few twins, too. It’s just so amazing to anyone who is not a twin. Your friends’ twin daughters will someday have a blast deliberately getting people to mix them up! My husband and his twin did some pretty questionable things like that when they were young. I guess that’s part of the fun of it. Thanks for responding.

Leave a Reply

