A Salute!

God Bless America

It is my honor to have you visit my blog.  The photo above is my son, Ken, near his US Army Veteran father’s grave in Grinnell, Iowa.

All of us are temporarily stationed on earth, and during our stay here, let’s make a mark for future generations. Whether you are in the military or ever have been or never can be, the assignment is the same. We either follow orders from our supreme Commander…the one and only true God…or we defect.

I’ve been in the Lord’s army for over 50 years now. In that time, I’ve been up and down the ranks. My General sometimes takes me places I’d rather not go, but I know He is in control. For that, I am assured of my safety. One day, He will call me to glory, and on that day, I will salute the only one worthy of total submission and awe.

A while back, I wrote a historical novel based on WWII, Foxtrots and Foxholes. There is jazz and zinging bullets, but there are relationships on the human and divine levels, too. A Jewish young man leaves Germany to join the Allied Forces. He meets and falls in love with a British journalist. The history is accurate, not revised, as nearly as possible. What an era!

Whether you can relate war experiences or those conflicting life experiences, let me know how it goes with you. Remember, “Kilroy Was Here” offered encouragement to fellow comrades on all three fronts of the war. He was everywhere…just like the triune God.

Want to leave your mark on the world? Send me a post. It’s the next best thing to V-Mail!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Salute!

  1. Click on recent posts and leave a reply.

  2. Floyd says:

    What a touching picture… I’m thankful to all the people that have had the gift of service provided by God for our country. I’m even more thankful to the ones that stand not only for our country, but for our heavenly Father as well. The timing for this with 9/11 being tomorrow is perfect.

    We are His foot soldiers, but His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

    What a thrill to see your new blog! May God bless your words here and may they impact our world as one of his soldiers and servants even beyond this precious first one.

    • Thank you so much, Floyd. You’ve inspired and blessed me with your kind words.

    • Floyd, I’m thankful for all of our service men and women, too. I hear that we are losing the last of our WWII vets in large numbers every day. I once wrote about a brigadier general, Joseph Flatt. He was a wonderful Christian leader. My late husband and I were in his Sunday school class in Saylorville, Iowa. We need more, as you say, “foot soldiers” like him.

      Thanks for your encouragement. I look forward to reading your blog and catching up on the year’s worth that I’ve missed. God bless you. Let’s pray for the families of those nearly 3,000 souls who lost their lives in the attack on 9/11/01.

  3. Floyd says:

    Oh! One more thing… KILROY WAS HERE!

  4. Ken says:

    History is not our only witness. We are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses cheering us on in our battles. May I be found faithful.

    • Ken, You are so right. I remember the first time I really took a good look at Hebrews 12:1. Can you believe that it was at Bob Jones University? Such a long time ago, but I always think of BJU whenever I see or hear about the great cloud of witnesses. Thanks for bringing back a happy memory.

  5. Pascal Marco says:

    Effie,
    I was just in Grinnell this summer, passing througgh as I continue my research on the Underground Railroad, as I did two summers ealier. Visited the library and spoke with the head librarian about carrying my novel, IDENTITY: LOST, there. next time you’re in town, please stop by and see if they acquired the book yet. Nice looking blog, by the way, and terrific posts.

  6. Pat,
    I’ll certainly check to see if IDENTITY LOST is in the library the next time I’m in Grinnell. In fact, I have friends and family there, so I’ll ask them to check…increase you readership by a few more folks anyway.

    The next time you’re in Grinnell, Iowa stop by the Iowa Little League/Softball headquarters at 1500 Penrose Street. The historic (mansion) house belonged to my husband’s grandparents, and all of the land where Ahrens Park and Family Center resides belonged to them, too. Our family has a lot of memories there. The Ahrens family purchased the property in 1971 and later named a street for our family. So, check out “Gross Avenue.”

    I wonder if some of our elderly family members have any info on the underground railroad. One of the aunts was a journalist in Grinnell, but she has long since passed away. Did you stop by the newspaper office?

    Thanks for stopping by to read and respond to my new blog!

    All the best…
    ~~Effie

  7. Mynita R says:

    Great blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

